Speaker 1702

With the assistance of the Mauritius Museums’ Council, the Mauritius Marine Conservation Society, and the LandArc Laboratory, an archaeological inventory and study mission of the artifacts from the Speaker pirate shipwreck (1702) took place from March 18 to 27, 2019 at the National Museum of History of Mahébourg. Yann von Arnim and Jean Soulat were able to work on this fabulous collection of more than 1,700 new objects.

The archaeological artifacts come from the shipwreck of the Speaker, the ship of the English pirate John Bowen, that sank on January 7th, 1702 on the east coast of Mauritius, 2.5 km from the coast of Grande Rivière South East. Discovered in 1979 by Jacques Dumas, archaeologist, and Patrick Lizé, French historians and archivists, two partial excavations of the shipwreck were carried out once the discovery was made. The first campaign took place in 1980 during three months under the direction of Jacques Dumas. The second mission took place ten years later with the team of Erick Surcouf. With the absence of proper fieldnotes, these two campaigns did not produce any excavation report. A scientific article by Patrick Lizé published in 1984, republished in 2006, then some works and press articles centered on the life of the famous pirate John Bowen, including a comic strip, unfortunately excluding the analysis and the in-depth study of these exceptional artifacts.

Coupled with this exhaustive study of the objects, the continuation of the investigations on the archaeological site of the Speaker will be envisaged for 2020 with a report on the state of the vestiges of the shipwreck, which, in particular, saw the preservation and curation of 34 cannons and three anchors. The Speaker is the first pirate wreck discovered, identified and scientifically searched in the world, well before the Whydah Galley (1717).

Circumstances of the sinking

The Speaker was a 500-ton French slave ship, the original French name which we do not yet have found. She was taken by the crew of pirate captain Bowen on April 16, 1700, in a Malagasy river in Madagascar. After numerous prizes, the Speaker ran aground near Ilot aux Roches, on the east coast of Mauritius, on the night of January 7th, 1702 due to a storm and a crew drunk on rum.

The pirates accidentally landed in Mauritius, jeopardizing the balance of the small Dutch colony established in the Old Grand Port. On January 9th, the governor of the island, Roelof Deodati, who worked for the Dutch East India Company, was alerted to the arrival of the pirates. A camp was set up near a beach while a large chest containing part of the treasure was saved from the sinking. The next day, Captain Bowen and his crew went on a reconnaissance on the island and realized that they were on Mauritius. The pirates negotiated with the governor, who had only 52 soldiers under his command. Wanting to avoid any conflict, Deodati resigned himself to selling the Vliegendehart sloop to the pirates with the aim of pressing them to leave the island as soon as possible. Thus, on March 4th, 1702, John Bowen said goodbye to the small colony and offered the governor 2,000 piastres as a token of his gratitude. Two weeks later, Bowen and his pirate crew arrived in Madagascar.

The Speaker today

The Speaker’s shipwreck still lies at the bottom of the ocean, just behind the Mauritian reef, at the depth of between 3 and 7 meters. Archaeological remains are still numerous since there are 34 cast iron cannons, 3 large cast iron anchors and the yet-to be explored area of the site which most likely retains ship structural elements trapped in coral. No remains of the wooden structure were preserved and discovered so far since the planks of the ship were recovered by the crew the day after the sinking, as was part of the cargo, but a distinct ballast pile covering the keel and keelson have yet to be located. During the 1980 campaign, a general site plan of the site was drawn up showing the extent of the sinking over almost 200 meters, materialized by the cannons which were spilled during the maneuvers of the ship. The archaeological missions that took place were negatively impacted due to the dangerous climatic conditions in the area (typhoon), pushing huge swells against the reef, the current also being a factor. In total, 1,746 objects have been brought up and are now, for the most part, kept at the National Museum of History in Mahébourg, the collection belonging to the Mauritius Museums Council and therefore to the Mauritian government.

A collection of original and heterogeneous objects

Belonging to the material culture of the second half of the 17th-century, 1746 objects were brought up. They are divided into several functional categories: armaments with 1,190 elements (artillery, various munitions, remains of sword guards), 63 objects related to personal effects (clothing accessories, ornaments, knives, pipes, etc.), on-board furnishing with 61 objects (caulking elements, various sheets, chandelier, furniture fittings, remains of a small bell, etc.), a dozen navigation instruments (compass and portable dial), crockery with 98 fragments of glass bottles and ceramic flasks or ceramic containers, beads with 221 incidence, which can both be incorporated into personal effects but also into trade, and finally artifacts linked to trade with 103 objects associated with trade and the slave trade ( gold and lead ingots, shackles), including 34 coins from many localities (England, France, Austria, Germany, Holland, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Egypt, Yemen and India).

After the detailed inventory, a first analysis of the Speaker’s material culture made it possible to highlight the certain singularity of the artifacts. It is, particularly, the objects found on the shipwreck that make it possible to affirm that the vessel indeed represents a pirate vessel, while archival research, including reports of the sinking, have yet to be located in French archives. But the number of guns make it possible to identify it precisely as a pirate ship. One of the criteria is based, in particular, on the geographic mix of the artifacts. This combines a strong British influence in connection with the English crew of the ship as well as objects from Europe (Italy, France, Germany, Austria, Holland, Spain), the Ottoman Empire, India and China, bearing witness to the multiple prizes made in the Indian Ocean by the crew. Many personal objects that belonged to the pirates were found such as buttons, shoe buckles, British rings and bracelet, an Indian rupee transformed into a medallion with its chain, fragmentary remains of Dutch and English clay pipes, padlocks or knives. The dishes testify to the prizes of multiculturalism with a British brass spoon, remains of a British glass bottle and flask (onion or quadrangular) for alcohol, remains of Asian storage vases from the provinces of southern China, probably from Fujian, shards of Chinese porcelain from the city of Jingdezhen, in the province of Jiangxi (southeast of China), Kangxi period (1662-1722) or fragments of jugs of Rhine sandstone. The second criterion that can be highlighted is the large quantity of weapons on board (1190 occurrences), in particular the importance of the ammunition (104 cannonballs and grenades and 1072 musket shot) which have been preserved and which clearly indicates that this was a vessel ready to engage in combat.

Discovery of a bronze cannon from the Danish East India Company

Among the most significant objects is the only bronze cannon found on the shipwreck. Salvaged in 1984 by South African divers, this 136 kg bronze artillery piece, 1.41 m long, appears to be a 4 to 6 pounder cannon. The coat-of-arms is marked by the presence of a decorated set forming a royal emblem which consists of a 4 inside a C surmounted by a crown and decorated on both sides by scrolls. The visible emblem on this artillery piece is the monogram C4 which represents Christian IV, king of Norway and Denmark between the years 1588 and 1648. He founded the Danish East India Company in 1616. Thus, this cannon very probably belonged to a ship of this particular company, a ship taken by Captain John Bowen at the very beginning of the 18th century.

Archaeological mission in 2020

Following this re-examination of the artifacts, a team of underwater archaeologists under the direction of Jean Soulat and Yann von Arnim will return to the sinking site in November 2020 for a period of 10-15 days. The objectives of this mission are oriented around the digital mapping of the remains of the shipwreck (cannons and anchors) using a photogrammetric plan developed through the use of an ROV. It is also a matter of establishing a provisional report of the remains, coming out with an inventory as well as measurements, or even trying to find architectural remains of the ship's structures. Finally, the ultimate objective of the mission is to carry out a 2x2 m test survey in order to try to bring to light new information on the wreck and life aboard of pirates and their captain John Bowen, through the discovery of new artifacts and possibly, structural remains.

References

von Arnim et al. 2019 :
Y. von Arnim, P. Lizé, J. Soulat, « L’épave du Speaker 1702, navire pirate de John Bowen (Grande Rivière Sud-Est, île Maurice) », dans J. Soulat (dir.), Archéologie de la Piraterie des XVIIe-XVIIIe siècles. Etude de la vie quotidienne des flibustiers dans les Caraïbes et l’océan Indien, Hors collection, Editions Mergoil, 2019, p. 97-107.

Lizé 1984 :
P. Lizé, « The Wreck of the Pirate Ship Speaker on Mauritius in 1702 », The International Journal of Nautical Archaeology and Underwater Exploration, 13, 2, 1984, p. 121-132.

Lizé 1987 :
P. Lizé, La véritable histoire du pirate Bowen, Editions Jacques Glénat, Grenoble, 1987.

Lizé 2006 :
P. Lizé, « Piracy in the Indian Ocean. Mauritius and the Pirate Ship Speaker », dans R. K. Skowronek, C. R. Ewen (dir.), X Marks the Spot. The Archaeology of Piracy, Gainesville, University Press of Florida, 2006, p. 81-99.

Piat 2014 :
D. Piat, Pirates et Corsaires à l'île Maurice, Editions du Pacifique, 2014.

Soulat et al. 2019 :
J. Soulat, Y. von Arnim, P. Lizé, « L’épave pirate du Speaker et son mobilier », A la Découverte des Pirates, Dossiers d’Archéologie, 394, 2019, p. 46-49.

Soulat et al. 2019 :
J. Soulat, Y. von Arnim, P. Lizé, « Le mobilier de l’épave pirate du Speaker 1702 », dans J. Soulat (dir.), Archéologie de la Piraterie des XVIIe-XVIIIe siècles. Etude de la vie quotidienne des flibustiers dans les Caraïbes et l’océan Indien, Hors collection, Editions Mergoil, 2019, p. 245-267.

Speaker 1702

Avec le concours du Mauritius Museums Council, du Mauritius Marine Conservation Society et du Laboratoire LandArc, une mission archéologique d’inventaire et d’étude du mobilier provenant de l’épave pirate du Speaker 1702 s’est déroulée du 18 au 27 mars 2019 au Musée National d’Histoire de Mahébourg. Yann von Arnim et Jean Soulat ont pu travailler sur cette fabuleuse collection de plus de 1700 objets inédits.

Le mobilier archéologique provient de l’épave du Speaker, le navire du pirate anglais John Bowen, qui a fait naufrage le 7 janvier 1702 sur la côte est de l’île Maurice, à 2,5 km de la côte en face de Grande Rivière Sud-Est. Découverte en 1979 par Jacques Dumas et Patrick Lizé, historiens et archivistes français, deux fouilles partielles de l’épave ont été effectuées par la suite. La 1ère campagne eut lieu en 1980 durant 3 mois sous la direction de Jacques Dumas. La 2ème mission se déroula dix ans plus tard avec l’équipe d’Erick Surcouf. A l’exception de notes de travail, ces deux campagnes n’ont pas produit de rapports de fouilles. Un article scientifique de Patrick Lizé publié en 1984, réédité en 2006, puis quelques ouvrages et articles de presse centrés sur la vie du célèbre pirate John Bowen, dont une bande dessinée, ont malheureusement écarté l’analyse et l’étude approfondie de ce mobilier exceptionnel.

Couplé à cette étude exhaustive du mobilier, la poursuite des investigations sur le site archéologique du Speaker sera envisagée pour 2020 avec un constat d'état des vestiges de l'épave, qui a notamment conservé 34 canons et 3 ancres. Le Speaker est la 1ère épave pirate découverte, identifiée et fouillée dans le monde.

Circonstances du naufrage

La Speaker est un navire négrier français de 500 tonneaux dont nous n’avons pas pour l'instant le nom français d’origine. Il a été pris par l’équipage du capitaine pirate Bowen le 16 avril 1700, dans la rivière de Methelage à Madagascar. Après de nombreuses captures, le Speaker s’échoue près de l’Ilot aux Roches, sur la côte est de Maurice, dans la nuit du 7 janvier 1702 en raison d’une tempête et d’un équipage imbibé d’alcool.

Les pirates débarquèrent fortuitement à Maurice mettant en péril l’équilibre de la petite colonie hollandaise installée au vieux Grand Port. Le 9 janvier, le gouverneur de l’île, Roelof Deodati, appartenant à la Compagnie hollandaise des Indes Orientales, fût alerté de l’arrivée des forbans. Un campement fut dressé près d’une plage tandis qu’un grand coffre contenant une partie du trésor pu être sauvé du naufrage. Le lendemain, le capitaine Bowen et son équipage partirent en reconnaissance dans l’île et reconnurent qu’ils étaient sur l’île Maurice. Les pirates parlementèrent avec le gouverneur, ce dernier n’ayant que 52 soldats sous ses ordres. Voulant éviter le conflit, Deodati se résigna à vendre aux pirates le sloop Vliegendehart dans le but de les pousser à quitter l’île au plus tôt. C’est ainsi que le 4 mars 1702, John Bowen fit ses adieux à la petite colonie et offrit au gouverneur 2000 piastres en témoignage de sa gratitude. Deux semaines plus tard, Bowen et son équipage de pirates arrivèrent à Madagascar.

Le Speaker aujourd’hui

L’épave du Speaker repose toujours au fond l’eau, juste derrière le récif mauricien, entre 3 et 7 mètres de profondeur. Les vestiges archéologiques sont encore nombreux puisqu’il reste 34 canons en fonte, 3 grandes ancres en fonte et des secteurs du site préservés qui conservent très probablement du mobilier, piégé dans le corail. Aucun reste de structure en bois n’a été conservé puisque les planches du navire ont été récupérées par l’équipage dès le lendemain du naufrage, tout comme une partie de la cargaison. Lors de la campagne de 1980, un plan général du site a été dressé montrant l’étendu du naufrage sur près de 200 mètres, matérialisé par les canons qui se sont déversés au cours des manœuvres du navire. Les missions archéologiques qui se sont déroulées ont été plus que malmenées en raison des conditions climatiques périlleuses sur la zone, la houle poussant les vagues contre le récif, le courant se ressentant également sous l’eau. Au total, ce sont 1746 objets qui ont remontés et sont désormais, pour la plupart, conservés au Musée National d’Histoire de Mahébourg, la collection appartenant au Mauritius Museums Council et donc au gouvernement mauricien.

Une collection d’objets inédits et hétérogènes

Appartenant à la culture matérielle de la 2ème moitié du XVIIe siècle, 1746 objets ont été prélevés. Ils se divisent en plusieurs catégories fonctionnelles : l’armement avec 1190 éléments (artillerie, munitions diverses, restes d’armes blanches), 63 objets liés aux effets personnels (accessoires vestimentaires, éléments de parure, couteaux, pipes, etc.), le mobilier de bord avec 61 objets (éléments de calfatage, tôles diverses, chandelier, ferrures de meuble, restes d’une clochette, etc.), une dizaine d’instruments de navigation (compas et cadran portatif), la vaisselle avec 98 fragments de bouteilles et flacons en verre ou de récipients en céramique, les perles avec 221 occurrences qui peuvent à la fois être intégrées aux effets personnels mais aussi aux échanges, et enfin le mobilier lié aux échanges avec 103 objets liés au commerce et à la traite négrière (lingots en or et en plomb, manilles) dont 34 monnaies qui viennent de nombreuses localités (Angleterre, France, Autriche, Allemagne, Hollande, Italie, Mexique, Pérou, Egypte, Yémen et Inde).

Après l’inventaire détaillé, une première analyse de la culture matérielle du Speaker a permis de mettre en avant une certaine singularité du mobilier. C’est particulièrement les objets retrouvés sur l’épave qui permet d’affirmer que le bâtiment est bien pirate tandis que les archives, la zone du naufrage et le nombre de canons permettent de l’identifier précisément. L’un des critères repose notamment sur la mixité géographique du mobilier. Celle-ci associe une forte influence britannique en lien avec l’équipage anglais du navire ainsi que des objets provenant d’Europe (Italie, France, Allemagne, Autriche, Hollande, Espagne), de l’Empire ottoman, d’Inde et de Chine qui sont les témoins des multiples prises effectuées dans l’océan Indien par l’équipage. De nombreux objets personnels ayant appartenu aux pirates ont été retrouvés comme des boutons, boucles de chausse, bagues et bracelet britanniques, une roupie indienne transformée en médaillon avec sa chaîne, des restes de pipes hollandaises et anglaises en terre cuite, des cadenas ou des couteaux. La vaisselle témoigne des prises et du multiculturalisme avec une cuillère britannique en laiton, des restes de bouteille et de flacon de verre britannique (en forme d’oignon ou quadrangulaire) pour l’alcool, des restes de vases de stockage asiatique provenant des provinces du sud de la Chine, probablement du Fujian, des tessons de porcelaine chinoise de la ville de Jingdezhen (Ching-te Chen), dans la province de Jiangxi (sud-est de la Chine), période Kangxi (1662-1722) ou encore des fragments de cruches en grès rhénan. Le second critère qui peut être mis en évidence c’est la grande quantité d’armes à bord (1190 occurrences), notamment l’importance des munitions (104 boulets de canon et grenades et 1072 balles de mousquet) qui ont été préservées et qui indique clairement qu’il s’agissait ici d’un navire prêt à engager le combat.

Découverte d’un canon en bronze de la Compagnie danoise des Indes orientales

Parmi les objets les plus significatifs, on peut citer le seul canon en bronze découvert sur l’épave. Remonté en 1984 par des plongeurs sud-africains, cette pièce d’artillerie en bronze de 136 kg mesurant 1,41 m de long apparaît comme un canon de 4 à 6 livres. L’écusson est marqué par la présence d’un ensemble décoré formant un emblème royale qui se compose d’un 4 à l’intérieur d’un C surmonté d’une couronne et orné de part et d’autre par des volutes. L’emblème visible sur cette pièce d’artillerie est le monogramme C4 qui représente Christian IV, roi de Norvège et Danemark entre les années 1588 et 1648. Il fonde la Compagnie danoise des Indes orientales en 1616. Ainsi ce canon appartenait très probablement à un navire de cette compagnie, vaisseau pris par capitaine John Bowen au tout début du XVIIIe siècle.

Mission archéologique en 2020

Faisant suite à ce réexamen du mobilier, une équipe d’archéologues plongeurs sous la direction de Jean Soulat et Yann von Arnim doit retourner sur le site du naufrage en novembre 2020 pour une durée de 10 jours. Les objectifs de cette mission s’orientent autour de la cartographie numérique des vestiges de l’épave (canons et ancres) à l’aide d’un plan photogrammétrique élaboré grâce à l’utilisation d’un ROV. Il s’agit également d’établir un constat d’état des vestiges, d’effectuer leur inventaire et leur mesure, voire d'essayer de retrouver des restes de structures du navire. Enfin, la mission a pour ultime objectif de réaliser un sondage test de 2x2 m afin d’essayer de mettre au jour de nouvelles informations sur l’épave et la vie à bord des pirates du capitaine John Bowen à travers la découverte de nouveaux objets et éventuels restes de structure.

Bibliographie

von Arnim et al. 2019 :
Y. von Arnim, P. Lizé, J. Soulat, « L’épave du Speaker 1702, navire pirate de John Bowen (Grande Rivière Sud-Est, île Maurice) », dans J. Soulat (dir.), Archéologie de la Piraterie des XVIIe-XVIIIe siècles. Etude de la vie quotidienne des flibustiers dans les Caraïbes et l’océan Indien, Hors collection, Editions Mergoil, 2019, p. 97-107.

Lizé 1984 :
P. Lizé, « The Wreck of the Pirate Ship Speaker on Mauritius in 1702 », The International Journal of Nautical Archaeology and Underwater Exploration, 13, 2, 1984, p. 121-132.

Lizé 1987 :
P. Lizé, La véritable histoire du pirate Bowen, Editions Jacques Glénat, Grenoble, 1987.

Lizé 2006 :
P. Lizé, « Piracy in the Indian Ocean. Mauritius and the Pirate Ship Speaker », dans R. K. Skowronek, C. R. Ewen (dir.), X Marks the Spot. The Archaeology of Piracy, Gainesville, University Press of Florida, 2006, p. 81-99.

Piat 2014 :
D. Piat, Pirates et Corsaires à l'île Maurice, Editions du Pacifique, 2014.

Soulat et al. 2019 :
J. Soulat, Y. von Arnim, P. Lizé, « L’épave pirate du Speaker et son mobilier », A la Découverte des Pirates, Dossiers d’Archéologie, 394, 2019, p. 46-49.

Soulat et al. 2019 :
J. Soulat, Y. von Arnim, P. Lizé, « Le mobilier de l’épave pirate du Speaker 1702 », dans J. Soulat (dir.), Archéologie de la Piraterie des XVIIe-XVIIIe siècles. Etude de la vie quotidienne des flibustiers dans les Caraïbes et l’océan Indien, Hors collection, Editions Mergoil, 2019, p. 245-267.